Best Available Rate (BAR), also known as Best Rate Guarantee assures our guests que quoted are the lowest available rate for each night.

Hotel Avenida PalaceHotel Avenida Palace

Reviews

Here are some reviews we have found on various travel platforms, in which you can discover what some of our guests feel about us.

We would also like to encourage you to write your own review on the hotel’s Questionnaire Sheet or on the different Social Networks.

Beautiful hotel and well located

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The public rooms are well kept and beautiful. The breakfast has an excellent assortment of food. Everything was clean and tasty. I highly recommend this hotel.

November 2019 on TripAdvisor

Great hotel

We came here based on TripAdvisor. What we found was a smaller quieter version of The Plaza (NYC) Fantastic architecture 25 ft high ceilings. Great breakfast. First-class service. Many servers are in dinner jackets. 24 hr concierge. Rooms are perfect and its right next to train station for your day trip to Sintra.

November 2019 on TripAdvisor

Friendly hotel in heart of Lisbon

This hotel is a great find. Expensive but worth it. All staff are helpful and friendly. Concierges can help with everything - advice on and booking restaurants, best tourist attractions and directions to them, airport transfers etc etc. Lovely bar and lounge with excellently made cocktails and light bites. Staff there were so helpful and friendly. Room was small but nicely decorated and kept pristine. Fresh coffee, water, toiletries, towels appeared every day plus little extra gifts - grapes, a shopping bag, chocolates and the most delicious smooth port. Right next door to train station to Sintra and metro. Walking distance to all main attractions and restaurants. Definitely recommend this lovely hotel. Book online to get 20% discount at the bar. Will stay here next time we visit Lisboa. Thank you to all the lovely staff for making our first visit to your vibrant city a relaxing and pleasurable one.

October 2019 on TripAdvisor

Old World Elegance

We ended our drive through Portugal in Lisbon. From the moment we drove to the hotel to the time we left, we were treated graciously .
Our room was very comfortable. We had a view of the Praça (square). Coffee, bottle of water,and a welcome gift of fruit were in the room. Comfortable chairs ,a room safe,and a closet that had an umbrella and a walking stick. (Yes,Lisbon streets are steep.)
Beds were very comfortable . Comforters were turned down in the evening. Lovey bathrooms toiletries .
Breakfast in a well appointed room included a variety of breads, fruit cheeses, meats , smoked salmon and a variety of other choices.
From the hotel it was a ten minute walk to the river in one direction . Around the square were many restaurant choices. The concierge was more than helpful in suggesting others.
I would definitely return to the Avenida Palace .

October 2019 on TripAdvisor

A five star hotel where you can feel like you are been serving by your family

Definitely this is a different kind of a five star hotel. The hotel is not owned by a international brand mark I think and yes by a family. This makes a lot of different. Everything you need they will provide you or at least try to provide you. And also it’s very well located and the comfort is great at the rooms. Breakfast marvelous. I left yesterday and I am already missing the hotel..,, be back for sure. If you are in doubt where to stay at Lisbon, don’t even think to stay anywhere else.

October 2019 on TripAdvisor

Perfect!

Perfect about says it regarding our 4 night stay at Lisbon’s Hotel Avenida Palace.
Location - Centrally located in the middle of the city
Reception - Welcoming and, for departure, provided a late Checkout due to our late afternoon flight home
Concierge - Great restaurant recommendations and help in getting around the city
Breakfast and Breakfast room staff - Could not ask for more; excellent choices and friendly staff serving it in a beautiful room.
Housekeeping - Room was clean with turndown service each evening. Even received a gift each day.

This is not a modern chain hotel. It’s a historical property and you will take a step back in time. For this couple, it provided a perfect stay for our first time in Lisbon. Highly recommended and we hope to return!

October 2019 on TripAdvisor

A Classic 19th Century Hotel

This property is a historic gem. Situated in one of the finest districts in Lisbon, close to great restaurants and the hop on/off tour bus stop. The staff were delightful and accomodating, upgrading us from a room that was quite small to a spacious suite. The sleep experience was excellent, comfortable bedding and quiet rooms. The common areas are beautiful, furnished with period furniture offering the comort and charm of a bygone era. They offer a wonderful breakfast buffet.

September 2019 on TripAdvisor

great place to stay!

We’ve enjoyed our stay at Avenida Palace! The room is clean & comfortable; the lobby bar with the piano player is a nice way to unwind and end the day. We got strawberries in our room as a treat! The staff is nice & friendly, I can’t recommend this hotel enough!

September 2019 on TripAdvisor

A really nice 5 star in a great location

The hotel is a classic elegant 5 star hotel located in walking distance of everything. The staff are helpful and friendly. We stayed in a junior suite that was large and comfortable. The decor is classic as opposed to modern with an understated elegence. While I prefer modern I found it to be a perfect blend of old world charm and modern amenities. Recommended

August 2019 on TripAdvisor

Perfect Stay

We originally booked for a basic Double room but were pleasantly surprised when 1) they allowed early check in and 2), upgraded us to a Suite Palace which was a huge room with a separate living area.

I also explained our dilemma in that we had to depart the hotel at 5am in the morning and the check in reception took the initiative to arrange to have our breakfast delivered to our room (as the included breakfast buffet wasn't open till 7am). She also arranged to have a taxi waiting for us to take us to the airport as well as a wake up call.

The professionalism of the staff was amazing and we enjoyed our stay so much.

Of course the central location of the hotel as well as the piano performances in night in the bar were icing on the cake.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to stay in Lisbon~.

August 2019 on TripAdvisor


Excellent Stay in Lisbon

We loved our experience at the Avenida Palace. The hotel is centrally located and offers easy access to the city. The service at the hotel was excellent, from the reception, concierge and the housekeeping staff. We had the daily breakfast and found the food offering to be very good, much better than the typical included breakfast. The service was good as well. We did not go to the bar so we cannot speak to the service there. We arranged for airport transfers and these also worked out perfectly. The room was comfortable for 3 people. Each day we were greeted with special in-room treats, such as fruit, chocolates, even a small gift for our son's birthday. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Lisbon.

August 2109 on TripAdvisor

Incredible Service

We like to stay in historic hotels when we travel. Hotel Avenida Palace was terrific. The location is great. Our room was large. The service was outstanding. We truly felt pampered. We had to leave at 4:00 am and the staff had breakfast sent to our room prior to our departure. Highly recommend!

August 2019 on TripAdvisor

50th birthday treat

We had the best time staying at this beautiful hotel for my 50th birthday. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and managed to get my favourite champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as a surprise on my birthday. They also gave me a lovely moleskin notebook which was so thoughtful.
My husband, myself and two daughters had an amazing few days in Lisbon and the hotel made it extra special. I couldn’t rate this hotel high enough, thank you from us all.

July 2019 on TripAdvisor

Make history

What a lovely historic hotel centrally located in Lisbon. It is so clean you could eat off the floor. Very very comfortable accommodations, welcoming and kind staff, the BEST breakfast buffet in all of Europe! You certainly can't go wrong and at a fair price you can experience a luxury with a past.

July 2019 on TripAdvisor

Top class and Top of the class

The hotel is currently going through a little renovation and will soon once again regain it’s regal decor and ambiance. From the doorway expect individual attention and a concern that you have the best of experiences on your stay. Little unexpected treats await and surprise you - a personal touch that is appreciated. The program of evening performances offer a relaxing opportunity in a wonderful setting. This is five star treatment with five star bar prices - so be prepared. An Irish coffee would cost you €10. The location is unsurpassed and leaves you in the heart of the city- so easy to ramble in and out in order to savour what the city of Lisbon has to offer.

July 2019 on TripAdvisor

Grand hotel in every way!

The best place to stay in Lisbon. Perfect location for exploring the city. The hotel lounge, bar and reception areas are decorated and maintained beautifully. Rooms are lovely. The staff is friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast, overall wonderful stay.

July 2019 on TripAdvisor

Would 10000% recommend

We LOVED this hotel and I can’t recommend it enough. From the location to the service to the rooms to the food, everything was 10/10. I’ll start with location. The hotel is very central and walkable to many of the important things you’ll want to see and do in Lisbon. It’s about a 20 minute drive from the airport located near the Bairro Alto/Chiado districts of Lisbon. It’s directly next door to the Rossio train station that goes to Sintra and a 1 minute walk from the Hard Rock Café and Restauradores square which is where many of the tour companies begin their tours. 
Next, the service. Simply put, the service was phenomenal. We landed early in the morning and check in wasn’t until the afternoon. We were desperate to shower and unload our luggage and the receptionist pulled all of the strings to find us an available room AND a free upgrade to a suite. Amazing! Our room was clean, beautiful and welcoming. We had a fancy sitting room with a writing desk, comfy couch and TV in addition to our bedroom… so plenty of room to spread out. Another moment where the service absolutely went above and beyond was with the concierge. We ate at Bairro de Avillez Pateo on the 2nd night and loved it (I’ll get into that in a moment) but we were super interested in trying the elusive Beco cabaret restaurant. Beco books out weeks in advance and there is only one seating per night so when we asked the waitress at Pateo she didn’t have much hope for us. We decided to see if the concierge (PAOLO) at Avenida could pull any strings and sure enough after a long phone call he scored us tickets for THAT NIGHT (A Saturday none the less!) with amazing seats in a packed out room. Incredible. 
Finally, my FAVORITE part of the whole experience… the FOOD. Two of my biggest weaknesses when traveling are 1. Airport bookstores and 2. BUFFET BREAKFASTS. I think the breakfast at Avenida Palace definitely made top 3 best hotel breakfasts of all time. There was fresh fruit, berries, pancakes, poached eggs, green juice, smoothies, pastries and Nutella… so basically all of my favorite foods. All in all, would 100000% recommend and stay again!

June 2019 on TripAdvisor

Heritage Host

Excellent position - for good walkers, you can reach most tourist sites, including viewpoints without having to use the elevators etc. Adjacent to railway station and bus services. Tasteful decor with interesting antiquities. Enjoyed the complimentary 7pm piano recitals each evening. Girls in bar were friendly and helpful. Good service. Hearty breakfast. Excellent choice by our travel agent.

June 2019 on TripAdvisor

Home in a palace

Hotel Avenida Palace is a dream that all hotels in the work should aspire to become. This is one of the best stay of my life.

Design: The classic, old-world charm of a royal palace is indulgent. I think the hotel is renovated from an old mansion, which boasts a breathtaking staircase and grand rooms. The rooms are expertly decorated to evoke the sense of aristocracy the guests cannot help but feel. The luxurious supply of modern amenities, complimentary refreshments, and thoughtful room-keeping touches marks its five star status. The bed and pillow are comfortable as can be. I love the small canvas tote stamped with hotel crest left on the bed as a goodbye gift.

Breakfast: hosted in a grand hall, the breakfast room is a vision to itself. The breakfast selection is astounding, almost unparalleled. A variety of top-notch quality cheese and charcuterie, smoked salmon, pancake and cereal station with both fresh fruit and confit, hot bar with quiche, open-faced canopes, every egg is delicately poached, perfectly seasoned champangion, even the hot dog they selected was divine. The server makes your desired coffee and serve to the table. On top of that, a mind-boggling array of Portuguese pastries and desserts will sure satiate you before journeying far.

Convenience: centrally located between new town and old town of Lisbon. Amazing restaurants, shops, monuments, piazzas, even castle and cathedral are within walking distance. Right at the exit of a major metro stop.15 minutes from the airport.

Front desk and concierge: extremely warm and knowledgeable staff. We got wonderful advices from the concierge about authentic Portuguese restaurant (which we loved so much we went back for more- bonjardim) and booked a one-day limo tour around a few cities around Lisbon. One day walking back from the dinner, we encountered and video-taped a folk singing group consisting of elderly ladies and gentlemen- only to learn from our concierge that the group is recognized as UNESCO world cultural heritage.

Tech: you might think that an old-world hotel is behind on their technology, but Avenida palace sure stepped up their game. The WiFi speed is a DREAM. There was never any corner within the hotel that had weak signals. Furthermore, the hotel provides each room with a free local cell phone to roam internet for free! Whoever thought of this idea needs to win an award.

All in all, my experience in Avenida palace is one homerun after another. I would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay here. I would absolutely stay in the hotel again if I come back to Lisbon, and I’m planning to bring my parents with me so they can enjoy the magic created by a combination of painstaking care of detail, excellent taste level, and simply wonderful people that work hard to make their guest feel at home, or maybe more like king and queen, in the palace.

June 2019 on TripAdvisor

Welcoming, beautiful hotel with wonderful staff all around!

I stayed here for 2 nights and wished I was booked there for the week! We arrived early AM and we were greeted by wonderful concierge. The hotel is lovely and well maintained. It is centrally located and the concierge service was able to set us up with tours and give helpful direction. The breakfast was the best that I have ever had in any 5 star hotel. My only regret was that I wasn’t able to stay there longer, but I will be back!

June 2019 on TripAdvisor

Memorable Experience

Our stay at the Avenida Palace was extraordinary! The public areas are comfortable and inviting. It was a nice touch to have English based newspapers. The bar is a lovely setting and I enjoyed good conversations with Gustavo and Theresa who were most gracious and interesting. The management was kind to upgrade us from a Junior Suite to a higher quality suite which was simply sumptuous. The breakfast service was of a very high quality. A special thanks to Sara in reception for her kind and polite service.

June 2019 on TripAdvisor

Treated like Royalty!

One travel writer said you would feel like a guest of Louis XlV staying here, and he wasn’t wrong! The hotel is a short ride from the airport, conveniently located between two of Lisbon’s major plazas. Check-in was a delightful surprise when we were upgraded to a corner suite overlooking the square with a view of the castle is the distance. A bowl of fresh strawberries and a big bottle of water were waiting, very welcome in 30+ degree weather!

As we arrived late, we opted to snack in the bar that night and sample their cocktails. Delicious and the service superb! Breakfast was served buffet style in a beautifully appointed room with chandeliers, linen table cloths/napkins and bubbly. The selection was excellent, and it was tempting to linger too long in such salubrious surroundings.

We also took afternoon tea one day and it, too, was top notch with impeccable service.

The convenient location would have made this hotel ideal anyway, but the spacious room, fabulous decor and friendly, helpful and efficient staff made it our best hotel stay ever, and we get around!

Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our girlie stay in Lisbon so memorable!

May 2019 on TripAdvisor

An Oasis for the weary traveller

Arrived at Lisbon airport yesterday & caught the excellent subway to metro station near the hotel. Warm greeting followed by transfer to an excellent room on the top floor. Made an in room coffee; great TV; free internet and a phone provided at no charge. Regal surrounds with music being played on the first floor. Buffet breakfast in beautiful historic surroundings on Level 2 of the hotel. Concierge answered all questions professionally and advice about places to eat sightseeing and transportation options was excellent. An awesome place. Well worth the visit.

May 2019 on TripAdvisor

Wonderful hotel!

We recently spent two nights here and loved this hotel. The room was lovely and quiet, the staff as nice as can be, and the location is great. It is just steps away from the shopping district, good restaurants, the metro and a funicular. The hotel itself is quite beautiful and the breakfast buffet was the best we had in Portugal. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Lisbon.

May 2019 on TripAdvisor

An excellent hotel

What a fabulous hotel! We stayed for five nights and had a great time. It's very well located to see all the sights of central Lisbon and for city tour buses etc. The hotel has an opulent feel with traditional furniture, decor, tiles and carpets, but everything is spotless and immaculately maintained. Our room was not particularly large, but was well appointed and very comfortable. We particularly liked the sliced fresh fruit on arrival and the gift of a small bottle of port on the second day. The breakfast was excellent, the staff were helpful and attentive, and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening piano concerts in the hotel lounge. Thoroughly recommended!

April 2019 on TripAdvisor

The best in every way

This hotel has it all, Great location, staff, breakfast, interior and rooms which have every amenity you would need. Pedro at the front desk was so cordial upon check in and through out. The bellman are great and run to get you a taxi and make sure you will get to your destination by talking to the driver. Sacramento and Romero were our favorite restaurants. Food and drink excellent quality for affordable prices. Don’t hesitate, go and see for yourself.

April 2019 on TripAdvisor

Location, Staff, Accommodations - Superb!

It is hard to know "where" to stay in Lisbon. We selected the hotel as it was close to the Rossio train station. Mistake - we ended up not using the trains there! But, serendipitously, the location couldn't be better! You likely have heard of Lisbon's hills. This locale is great, in that, you are not at the bottom, nor at the top. It is ideal for exploring, proximity to landmarks, and getting a feel for the city. So, there are other hotels in the area, why choose Avenida Palace? Hands down, the staff. Everything and everyone is a bit formal, but we found that to be Lisbon. We experienced so much warmth, kindness, and professionalism. Gustavos in the bar was amazing. Inventive cocktails, excellent service, and incredibly personable. As we traveled for several weeks and stayed in other cities, I have unfortunately forgotten the name of the young concierge that so impressed us - Pedro? He took time to listen to our requests, was careful in providing guidance and directions so that we could understand, and was genuinely concerned with our stay. Really impressive. All the staff were professional and helpful from the doormen, to the breakfast staff, to housekeeping. Lastly, the accommodations. The hotel's attention to detail is amazing. There are so many details that I cannot begin to address. The china, the linens, the notes and small gifts each night. My husband traveled via ship to Europe as a child and compared the elegance to that - the comfort and opulence of the Titanic...without the disaster. Bottom line - very comfortable, quiet, and clean. You have the most important criteria in my mind covered...plus so much more. By far, this is THE hotel in Lisbon.

April 2019 on TripAdvisor

Avenida Palace is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever been to.

It has an excellent location for strolls around the old Lisbon, and a taxi ride to the airport was less than 20 minutes. The hotel staff was very helpful and since the beginning of the stay we felt a real service to the highest level it's not common even in hotels of the highest category. The interior of the hotel was more like a stay in the castle, which really corresponds to the very tasteful furnishings of the large historic rooms. Walking around the hotel corridors, a drink, or a coffee in the lobby as well as breakfast was a remarkable experience. The visit to Lisbon was certainly very much enjoyed by the fact that we chose the Avenida Palace.

March 2019 on TripAdvisor

Fabulous!

Smallish hotel with a luxurious feel. Beautiful rooms, fantastic service, wonderful breakfast, best location for walking around the city. We've stayed here several times and will definitely stay there again when visiting Lisbon.

March 2019 on TripAdvisor

Absolutely fabulous

This hotel is exceptional. It is very opulent and very beautiful and very clean. It is right in the city center with easy access to trains, metro and buses. The breakfasts are superb and the staff at this hotel cannot do enough for you. They were all wonderful. We can not recommend this hotel enough. We had a great stay here.

March 2019 on TripAdvisor

Charming hotel in central location

Stayed for 3 nights and found this hotel to be in a central location, walking distance to everything within centric Lisbon and easy access to many train stations and restaurants.

The hotel is comfortable with amazing details. It was lovely having a drink in the downstairs bar at the end of a long day.

Staff were fantastic, happy to help with any requests and it was the small details that stood out in comparison to other hotels; providing a guest mobile phone to use for duration of stay free of charge (great idea), strong WiFi connection throughout hotel, and the attention to detail to guests, by providing my mother with a bottle of champagne and chocolates in our room for her birthday (we had not told them it was her birthday). Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

March 2019 on TripAdvisor

Wonderful in Every Way

Location, local, location! Hotel Avenida Palace is in the center of everything needed for a visit to Lisbon. The entire staff was helpful in so many ways especially the concierge. Excellent service, caring people, and a remarkable stay.

March 2019 on TripAdvisor

Royalty living in Avenida Palace

I need to use the most beautiful words to describe this amazing Palace hotel. The room was incredible. The staff professional. The breakfast was dreamy in a dreamy atmosphere. We enjoyed our drinks in the royalty living room with pianists playing music every night. I felt in love again, I felt like a princess in my magic castle. This place is fantastic not only because is really a Palace but also because is found in the heart of the city, near to every special point you have to visit! My beloved Avenida Palace, my beloved Lisbon, you made my holidays unforgettable!!!!! Thank you, I wish I would stay forever....

February 2019 on TripAdvisor

 

Excellent experience!!

As we had never visited Lisbon,we were anxious to walk, see, taste this beautiful city! Avenida Palace was an excellent choice to do so. The hotel is situated in the very center of Lisbon, walking distance to all attractions. As we arrived we were upgraded to a very big room. Very luxurious and spacious. The breakfast was tasty and had fresh fruits, and two kinds of eggs.
The croissants, and brioches were delicious as well.
Some nights we stayed in, enjoying drinks and light meals at the bar, with the very attending barman!
Lisbon is a beautiful city worth visiting, and Avenida Palace made our visit memorable!

February 2019 on TripAdvisor

Wonderful Stay

Fantastic stay at the Avenida Palace celebrating our anniversary. Great attention to detail- we received a welcome gift of champagne when we arrived, fresh strawberries in our room later in our stay. Central location- walking distance to the majority of attractions in Lisbon. Looking forward to another stay here upon our return to Lisbon!

February 2019 on TripAdvisor

Excellent and beyond

May stay at Avenida Palace hotel has tremendously contributed to the joyous experience of my trip to Lisbon. The location is great in a nice walkable area that is close to different city attractions. The room was good and clean. The breakfast was very good with so much varieties of bakery and fresh fruits. The staff at every single level were friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

February 2019 on TripAdvisor

Great experience

We had in this hotel a unique exclusive positive experience which is different positively from any experience we had in a five stars hotel in the past wherever we were.
The hotel is located in a very good place few steps to bus stations trams and metro in Lisbon downtown. It is very welcoming and elegant in European good old style. 
Our room was very elegant and large. Bathroom were shining and spotless . Room-Service was excellent. The room and the bathroom were taken care twice a day very thoroughly. Everything you could think about was given in the room without asking. 
Almost every evening there was a free music program in the launch.
Breakfast was very rich and elegant. 
We booked via the hotel website and and asked several requests. All our requests were responded positively. The hotel enabled us late checkout till 9 PM without extra payment !! 
Staff was very helpful and very nice.
For suer , if we will return to Lisbon we will return to this hotel and will recommend it to all our friends.

January 2019 on TripAdvisor

Beautiful

Go Go Go You won't be disappointed.The décor is old world. The room was nicely appointed. The service was very helpful and friendly.
I don't think you could ask for a better location. Make sure you see a Fado show while in Lisbon.

January 2019 on TripAdvisor

Old World Elegance

If you want your stay in Lisbon to include a graceful and dignified hotel you must stay at the Avenida Palace. You will experience old world charm, beautiful classic furnishings, comfort, and an outstanding staff. We stayed four nights and we enjoyed everything about this hotel. It's location is super convenient and the rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. There is a cozy and comfortable English style bar and the Palace Lounge is where you will want to spend time enjoying a glass of wine, afternoon tea, evening piano recitals, or just simple reading a book. The champagne breakfast room is just as elegant. Every staff member we met made you feel like it was their goal to provide their personal service. Avendida Palace IS what you think a hotel should be, and more!

January 2019 on TripAdvisor

Fantastic classy well located hotel, superb service and great value

Loved this hotel, especially the great basics and little extras.
Great basics: good bed and bed linens, thick white towels and robes, large bathroom, excellent breakfast buffet, fantastic service from every staff member in the hotel
Extras: free mobile phone in your room to use for roaming the city and surfing the net/ phoning home, free WiFi, strawberries in. Room on arrival, free water in room daily, free champagne on New Years Eve, chocolates on pillow each night, turn down service, entertainer/pianist in bar every evening.
In summary I can’t say enough about this well located, excellent hotel, it’s like taking a step back in time, all the modern convenience you expect with a big spoon of style and glamour. Just perfect.
Definitely coming back. Great value, great service, great quality hotel.

January 2019 on TripAdvisor

I don’t want to be selfish

In simple words, the BEST hotel that I have been so far. I don’t know if I should share this review, since I want to keep this hotel available for future travels here, but definitely a five star hotel with a conscious budget prices. You definitely will see me here next time I am in Lisbon. The breakfast is a must and the staff is amazing, you feel like in a palace. Sincerely the BEST in Lisbon. 

December 2018 on TripAdvisor

Why stay anywhere else?

From the moment we arrived, we felt comfortable, welcome, and pampered. The check in process was easy with a reception team of courteous, smart, helpful, and lovely women. The lobby is impressive with an old fashioned round seat and large flower arrangements. The lobby living room has a grand piano where we heard a piano player each night we were there. Each night was a different person with different styles; classical, blues, etc. The bar off the lobby was a great place to start or end our evenings. Not only can you hear the piano music in there, they have a light menu and a solid wine list, with mixed drinks, as well. It was especially nice to talk with the bartender who was a recent college grad with exceptional English. Getting to know locals is always special. The food there was perfect for our needs- arugula salad with fresh parm and tomatoes and my partner got a lox sandwich with fries. Both delish. 
The room was perfect. Crisp, clean, tailored. Comfy bed. Seating area where I was comfortable working on my computer. High ceilings! There is a tv and a desk. Big heavy drapes that opened to big, tall windows overlooking the square. The windows opened like doors. You can step out onto a little balcony to see more and check the day's weather. They have black out shades, so set an alarm if you want to wake! There was plenty of space for unpacking and a good sized closet with mirrored doors on heavy wood. The bathroom was marble- - old elegance and clean with a large tub and excellent pressure in the shower. We didn't try the bidet, but it was there. The breakfasts were delightful- hot, cold, lots to choose from and in a beautiful room. 
In sum, very tasteful and civilized. And an excellent location, to boot.
We will return.

December 2108 on TripAdvisor

Grand and Beautiful hotel, fantastic service - perfect place for an anniversary celebration.

We stayed 3 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have picked a more perfect hotel. The Avenida Palace is beautifully grand, the rooms are lovely, the bed huge and very comfortable bed. Service and housekeeping excellent. We booked directly with the hotel and the staff showed their appreciation with small gifts and 20% discount at the bar. Unlike many hotels bar prices were very reasonable. We also enjoyed a Sunday evening 'Fado' piano recital in the lounge whilst enjoying a bottle of Fizz! Breakfast was taken in the 2nd floor very grand dining room - selection of food was the best we have seen and catered for everyone. the hotel is very well located being just a minute walk from Restauradores Metro - 40 mins journey from the airport, one change and 1.95 euros - incredible value! As it was we only used the metro to get to and from the airport found lots to see and do in the local area - as long as you have a good pair of shoes and don't mind hills (although you can take the tram). All in all perfect and we will definitely book again the next time we visit Lisbon.

December 2018 on TripAdvisor

Great old world hotel with perfect location

This hotel was a real find for me. I booked it based on great reviews from Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. It is an old world hotel with real European Charm. It is very well maintained and I loved the opulence of the dining room and lounges. The staff was incredibly helpful and attentive. I asked for a charge and one appeared in a moment from housekeeping. I asked for a shirt to be pressed (alas no irons in the room) and almost before I could hang up the phone housekeeping appeared to take the shirt and then returned it in under 15 minutes. The concierge was excellent and the restaurant suggestions were spot on.

The rooms are not large but well appointed. Mine faced an inner courtyard so it was dark but extremely quiet which was welcome. The bed was hard and the pillows really were subpar. That was the only downside. I did get good sleep. The bathrooms are old world and you have to climb into a big old tub for a shower but the water pressure was great and hot. The soaps/bath products were high end.

I can't say enough great things about the spectacular breakfast. Everything was well cooked and plentiful and delicious. It was a high point having a full European breakfast each morning.

Last but not least I couldn't think of a better location. It is in the center of everything and nothing was more than a short walk. If you want to venture out of Lisbon then the train station is immediately next door.

I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

December 2018 on TripAdvisor

We would also like to encourage you to write your own review on the hotel’s Questionnaire Sheet or on the different Social Networks.

Beautiful hotel in fantastic location

Wow. Stunning hotel. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Rooms were beautiful. Breakfast was deeelish. Bar was great. Would definitely stay again. Fantastic location right in the heart of Lisbon. We just loved it.

December 2018 on TripAdvisor

Excellent Hotel

Highly recommend this hotel. We stayed before and after trip to Porto. Rooms were beautiful. Very old and charming, well maintained and very comfortable. Service was excellent. Really enjoyed the breakfast each day. We were provided with a cell phone to make one hour of free phone calls each day to anywhere in the world

November 2018 on TripAdvisor

Classic elegance and comfort

The Hotel Avenida Palace is such a classic! Super elegant and fancy. At the same time, it is quite comfortable and the service is outstanding! What’s not to love? Location is also outstanding. The concierge went out of his way to help us with several transportation issues. Saved us quite a bit in taxi expenses. Breakfast was amazing and drinks in the cozy bar were a perfect treat.

November 2018 on TripAdvisor

6 star all the way! An icon in Lisbon.

I love this hotel. It was my third visit, and I now will not stay anywhere else in Lisbon but at the Avenida Palace.

The hotel itself is situated in the centre of everything. Walking through it’s lobby and hallways, one can clearly sense the history. This is a hotel where the who’s-who of Lisbon has congregated for many years- yet they are very friendly and have no snooty attitude at all.

What is truly different about the Avenida Palace is the kindness of its front line employees. From the ladies manning the front desk, to the waitstaff at the outstanding breakfast- they just cannot do enough for their guests.

I have a back problem, and the staff brought me up ice to help, and asked how I was at check out. Mr Costa is a lovely man, and he allowed the little extra time that I required to stay flat with an ice-pack on my back before my flight.

Everyone here should be very proud of the Avenida Palace.

November 2018 on TripAdvisor

Elegant Property with Excellent Staff

We arrived jet lagged for a one-night stay in Lisbon. The staff at the hotel had been a tremendous help while we planned our stay and this assistance continued through our visit. The hotel is well located, easy to walk to sights. The breakfast was generous, and located in a beautiful dining room. The public space decor had an old-world elegance with rich colors and magnificent chandeliers.

November 2018 on TripAdvisor

Me encanto!!!!!!!

Me encanto el hotel: céntrico, con estacionamiento, súper atentos: frutas frescas en la habitación, una bolsa se tela para tus compras, agua embotellada, todo de cortesía. Excelente la atención, el desayuno súper completo. Magnifico.

October 2018 on TripAdvisor

Most Incredible Stay in Lisbon

If you're looking for the BEST hotel in Lisbon, look no further. The Hotel Avenida Palace is THE place to stay! It offers everything you could ask for in a hotel. The location CAN'T be beat. Right in the center of Lisbon. Minutes from every attraction whether on foot or by car. The hotel has that "old world charm" mixed with modern amenities. The staff cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is great. Rooms comfortable. Believe me when I say " LOOK NO FURTHER"!

October 2018 on TripAdvisor

Lovely and beautiful hotel and experience

Loved Hotel Avenida Palace. It was in an ideal location, the room was gorgeous and spotless--full of natural light and beautifully appointed. The staff was very helpful. It was quiet, peaceful and we enjoyed every moment there. One of my most favorite European Hotels.

September 2018 on TripAdvisor

Superb in Central Lisbon

We spent 4 days at the Avenida Palace in Lisbon. Travelled over to watch Eurovision and do some sightseeing in Portugal. This hotel is in an excellent location in central Lisbon. Very close to everything you could want. The metro is a short walk across the square, restaurants just around the corner. The hotel itself is a grand old lady, with old world charm you don't see much these days.

June 2018 on TripAdvisor

Excepcional

Everything was perfect. The breakfast was amazing...had everything you could ever want for breakfast...crepes, lovely creamy scrambled eggs, crispy bacon, natas, rice pudding, fresh fruit (these were just my favorites)
Rooms and decor were beautiful and the staff were all so helpful
Location was great. Right beside Rossio train station for train to Sintra and close to metro too.

June 2018 on Booking .com

Old World Charm

Step back into the past and immerse yourself in a little old world charm. Livered doormen, piano bar, stately decor, personal attention and period decorated bedrooms. Excellent breakfast, delightful evenings in the cocktail bar with live music and vocalists, jazz and classical renditions. 
Comfortable classic lounge areas for reading, relaxing and meeting friends 
Rooms are not big nor small and bathrooms are spacious. 
Perfectly comfortable and situated in a fabulous location near to the city centre and the train station to Sintra with easy access to uptown, downtown and the Chiado.

June 2018 on TripAdvisor

"verdadeiro 5 estrelas em excelente localização e serviços. Retornarei!"

Localização ótima !! Recepção , pessoal em geral e principalmente concierges excelentes. Café da manhã muito completo. Decoração bem tradicional , luxuosa e de muito gosto. Bar bem montado .Piano ao vivo muitas vezes no happy hour. Quarto e banho muito confortáveis . Estacionamento fácil. Sem problemas de sonorização.

June 2018 on Booking.com

Perfect hotel with perfect room-service

In beginning of May we visited Lisbon, Portugal, once again. Of course we stayed at our favorite hotel, Avenida Palace, with the perfect location right in town centre. We enjoyed every minute in Lisbon, our favorite city, and in Hotel Avenida Palace. Comfortable room, nice staff, excellent breakfast - everything first class. This time we enjoyed even the first-class room-service. A perfect late hot meal in the room, with all the extras you could imagine and an early breakfast in the room. Excellent service! Thank you, Avenida Palace!!

June 2018 on TripAdvisor

Why stay anywhere else

Great hotel, great location and good plentiful breakfast to start the day. Why anyone else would not give this hotel 5 stars is beyond me. The staff were very helpful and friendly and if you are visiting Lisbon then I would definitely recommend Avenida Palace.

May 2018 on TripAdvisor

Excellent

We arrived very late, where we were properly greeted with a beautiful upgrade. Much to our delight after a fabulous night sleep we commented how clean the room and hotel are!! We especially noted the hotel’s history, and how well the furnishings are beautifully maintained. 

Our 4 night stay never disappointed us ever as the location is ideal. The bar, high tea and room service made us feel appreciated by the staff who aimed to please. The hotel front desk and concierge answered all our concerns even though we spoke no Portuguese. They directed us to several memorable walking paths that exceeded our imaginations. Looking forward to returning to Lisbon and I will be sharing this wonderful hotel stay with everyone in Carmel California. Much continued success to Avenida Palace.

May 2018 on Expedia

FANTASTIC hotel in the best location with the best service ! Highly recommend !!

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights last week. Since we walked in we fell in love with this hotel. I've stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world and this one is definitely one of the top ones I enjoyed.

The entrance, lobby and tea room, very beautiful, very elegant. The rooms are all extremely grand, extremely comfortable and spacious too. i know this place is not exactly cheap but I tell you it is worth it.

The staff all very friendly, all very polite, all very helpful from the receptionists, to the cleaning staff, to the concierge to the bell captains - all of them were professionals.

The Wifi is included and it was good and the breakfast we took as well. Although the breakfast is the same every day it was wonderful. Nice selection of foods and great waiters too.

I heard the tea service was delightful, but i did not have time to try it.

Oh and there's live free piano every other day.

Need to mention the GREAT location too !

I love this hotel and I would never hesitate to come back and highly recommend it.

May 2018 on TripAdvisor

Perfect place to stay to explore Lisbon

Location of this old style grand opulent hotel was perfect to explore the fascinating city of Lisbon. Staff were excellent as was our room. Completely faultless experience.

May 2018 on Booking.com

Wonderful Experience

Gorgeous old world feel to this hotel with modern amenities. Soon after check-in received a large bowl of delicious strawberries and 2 rain hats because it was going to rain. The next day received a backpack type thing to hold my souvenirs as I went shopping. Breakfast buffet was included and it was sooooo good. Crepes, poached eggs, bacon, the best brioche I have had. Fresh fruit, cheese meats, etc. Did not have electricity converter and the hotel provided it. WiFi was so easy to get into. No password was required and it was fast. Is located across the street from all the restaurants.

April 2018 on TripAdvisor

Great location and extremely friendly staff

We spent 3 nights here on a long weekend to experience Lisbon for the first time. Our room was surprisingly spacious, the breakfast great and most of all, the entire staff was friendly and helpful. The location put us in walking distance of many attractions, tapas bars and restaurants. Otherwise, a cab was always available.

April 2018 on Expedia

Fabulous

Don’t look anywhere else if you want a well-located, beautiful, friendly, comfortable and attentive place to stay. 
The Ritz could send their staff here to train!
Be certain to book with breakfast included. It is delicious, varied and the service is outstanding.
They allowed us to park our car right out front for easy access.

April 2018 on TripAdvisor

Excepcional

Everything was perfect
The breakfast was amazing...had everything you could ever want for breakfast...crepes, lovely creamy scrambled eggs, crispy bacon, natas, rice pudding, fresh fruit (these were just my favourites !)
Rooms and decor were beautiful and the staff were all so helpful
Location was great. Right beside Rossio train station for train to Sintra and close to metro too.

April 2018 on Booking.com

Quality from the very first to the very last.

From walking into this hotel you know that there will be traditional high standards throughout. The hotel is quality from each of the courteous, attentive ,friendly and professional staff to the fixtures and fittings. The various meeting rooms , dining room and bar are all beautifully decorated plus very comfortable seating areas. Good sized comfortable bedrooms are kept spotless and with a high end range of toiletries maintained regularly.

March 2018 on TripAdvisor

Excellent hotel in a great location

This hotel is within walking distance of the Santa Justa Lift, the water front and many other amenities. The staff are excellent with fantastic service and attention to detail. The decor is something to uphold. 

March 2018 on Expedia

A real Palace

Just spent three days in Lisbon at The Avenida Palace. It is indeed a real Palace, a real hotel with that magnificence of the late 19th century with 21st century amenities.Extremely professional staff, nice and helpful above all.

March 2018 on TripAdvisor

Excepcional

It is a hotel we have stayed in 5 times over as many years, with both family and as a couple. Everything is good about the entire service you experience staying in this elegant hotel in the heart of Lisbon. Its location is central with proximity to transport links, excellent restaurants, and shopping.

VeriSign Secured, McAfee Secure, W3C CSS compliant
GuestCentric - Hotel website & booking technology

This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience and provide you the best service possible. Continuing browsing the site you consent to their use.

View more
Ok